The Office of the Solicitor performs the legal work for the United States Department of the Interior.   The Solicitor is the chief attorney for the Department, and principal legal adviser to the Secretary of the Interior.  The Office’s more than 430 attorneys and support staff provide advice, counsel and legal representation to the Secretary and other Department leadership, as well as to all Department bureaus and offices.  The Immediate Office of the Solicitor includes the Solicitor, Principal Deputy Solicitor, and several Deputy Solicitors and Counselors.  Also within the Immediate Office is the Departmental Ethics Office, the Departmental FOIA Office, and the Indian Trust Litigation Office.  The Office of the Solicitor has six legal divisions that focus on Indian Affairs, Land Resources, Mineral Resources, Parks and Wildlife, Water Resources, and General Law, as well as an Administration division.  More than half of our attorneys are assigned to one of 16 regional and field offices located throughout the United States, with the rest assigned to divisions and offices located at the Washington, DC, headquarters.