Doing Business with DOI

The U.S Department of the Interior Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization (OSDBU) is an advocate for small business dedicated to maximizing contracting opportunities for small, small disadvantaged, 8(a), women-owned, HUB-Zone and service disabled veteran owned small businesses. Small businesses play a significant role in advancing the Department's goals and supporting Interior's contributions to the Nation's economy. When conducting your research, you should focus on the Department's mission as outlined below:

  • Protect the Environment and Preserve Our Nation's Natural and Cultural Resources
  • Provide Recreation for America
  • Manage Natural Resources for a Healthy Environment and Strong Economy
  • Provide Science for a Changing World
  • Meet our Trust Responsibilities to American Indians, Alaska Natives and Our Commitment to Island Communities

Marketing Your Capabilities

The best and most productive marketing approach for small businesses is to be proactive and find a suitable niche in selling your product or service to the Federal, state and local governments. Prepare a detailed capability statement for distribution to Federal agencies, and be specific in describing the capabilities of your firm. Be sure to indicate prior experience, successfully completed Government contracts, and references with contact information. As a business seeking contracts with the Federal Government, you must be registered via the System for Award Management (SAM). Also, learn as much as possible about the Federal acquisition system by reviewing information on the Small Business Administration website.

Tips on Getting A Contract

  • Know your business inside out and articulate effectively what it is you have to offer
  • Know your advantages as a small business many contracts are set-aside just for you!
  • Stay connected to www.beta.SAM.gov for contract¬†opportunities, solicitations and notices.
  • Become throughly familiar with the Federal agencies, their components and their missions
  • Build positive relationships with government decision makers; attend outreach and networking events

DOI Headquarters Small Business Contacts

Bureau of Indian Affairs

Nikolai Matoka
412-865-7641
Nikolai.matoka@bia.gov

Bureau of Land Management

Felicia Salazar
303-239-3699
Fsalazar@blm.gov

Bureau of Reclamation

Melissa Trotter
303-445-2442
Mtrotter@usbr.gov

U.S Fish and Wildlife Service

Josh Gordon
703-358-2651
josh_gordon@fws.gov

Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement

Teresa Manovich
703-787-1104
Teresa.Manovich@bsee.gov

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

Teresa Manovich
703-787-1104
Teresa.Manovich@bsee.gov

Interior Business Center

Jeanne Poovey
703-964-3528
Jeanne_Poovey@ibc.doi.gov

National Park Service

Cynthia Adonoo
202-354-1946
cynthia_adonoo@nps.gov

Office of the Inspector General

Douglas Stickler
703-487-5440
douglas_stickler@doioig.gov

Office of Surface Mining, Reclamation and Enforcement

Samara Hasberry
202-208-0614
Shasberry@osmre.gov

U.S Geological Survey

Timothy Wiand
703-648-7336
Twiand@usgs.gov

Was this page helpful?