U.S. Department of the Interior Office of the Solicitor Legal Internship/Externship Program

Request for Consideration

Student Name:		
Internship period requested:	Fall Dates available: MM/DD/YYYY Available to work: Part Tin	_ Summer Spring thru MM/DD/YYYY ne (hours per week) Full Time
STEP 1 Please numerically rank no more than 4 locations below for consideration. (See attached organizational descriptions) Regional and Field Offices		STEP 2 (Complete only if you ranked Washington, D.C. in STEP 1) Please numerically rank all divisions/offices below for which you would like to be considered. HQ Washington, D.C. Offices

Headquarters Offices – Areas of Law

Immediate Office of the Solicitor

The Immediate Office of the Solicitor consists of the Solicitor, the Deputy Solicitor, a Counselor to the Solicitor, a Special Assistant, an Executive Assistant and a program assistant. Each division has different responsibilities and provides legal services to different client-representative bureaus and offices within the Department, while reporting to the Deputy Solicitor and the Solicitor. The Divisions provide legal counsel and representation to the Secretary, the Assistant Secretaries, and the Bureau Directors.

Division of General Law

The Division of General Law provides legal counsel and representation on such diverse administrative matters as appropriations, partnerships and fundraising, departmental organization and delegated authorities, procurements and contracts, grants, patents, copyrights, trademarks, property management, land titles, records management -- including the Freedom of Information Act and the Privacy Act, conflicts of interest, personnel matters, equal employment opportunity and civil rights, labor management relations, tort claims, and issues involving the Insular Areas administered by the Department.

Division of Indian Affairs

The Division of Indian Affairs provides legal counsel and representation to the Secretary acting as federal trustee to American Indian tribes and their members on such diverse Indian law matters as land claims, trust land acquisitions, leasing, environmental issues, reservation boundaries, energy, gaming, roads, Indian water rights, education, tribal courts, hunting and fishing, treaty rights, economic development, social services, law enforcement, Indian Child Welare Act, housing, tribal consultation, trust funds and trust services, probate, tribal governments, tribal elections, self-determination and self-governance, federal recognition and acknowledgment, cultural resources, the Land Buy Back program, and natural resources.

Division of Land Resources

The Division of Land Resources provides legal counsel on matters regarding the administration of programs and activities of the Bureau of Land Management, matters involving the management of natural resources on the public lands, and the remediation of hazardous waste sites on Interior-managed lands.

Division of Mineral Resources

The Division of Mineral Resources provides legal counsel on matters regarding the administration of programs and activities of the Geological Survey and matters involving offshore minerals and international law; royalty management matters involving distribution of revenues from leases on Federal lands, the Outer Continental Shelf, and Indian lands; coal leasing and hard rock mineral patenting; and the environmental regulation of coal mining, as well as matters regarding the administration of the Office of Surface Mining and the minerals programs of the Bureau of Land Management.

Division of Parks & Wildlife

The Division of Parks and Wildlife provides legal counsel on matters regarding the administration of programs and activities of the National Park Service, the Fish and Wildlife Service, the biological research functions of the Geological Survey, and matters involving the acquisition and administration of the National Parks and wildlife refuges, the designation of wild and scenic rivers and wilderness areas, historic preservation, law enforcement, First Amendment activities, environmental protection, grants-in-aid, and endangered species protection.

Division of Water Resources

The Division of Water Resources provides legal counsel on matters regarding the administration of programs and activities of the Bureau of Reclamation and matters involving water resource development issues.

Office of Indian Trust Litigation

The Office of Indian Trust Litigation is responsible for defending litigation brought by Indian Tribes and individual Indians against the Department for breach of trust relating to the accounting for, and management of, trust funds held by the Department for tribes and individual Indians and for breach of trust relating to the management of tribal lands and natural resources.

Office of Ethics

The Ethics Office is responsible for overseeing the Department's statutorily mandated ethics program, and derives its authority directly from the Secretary, who, by regulation, is the head of the agency's ethics program. The Director of the Ethics Office is responsible for implementing the laws, executive orders, regulations, and departmental policies concerning conflicts of interest and employee responsibilities and conduct.

Regional and Field Locations

Regional and field offices typically serve multiple bureaus and areas of law, depending on the location.

Alaska Region

Alaska. The Office of the Regional Solicitor is located in Anchorage, Alaska.

Intermountain Region

Utah, Arizona and parts of Nevada. The Office of the Regional Solicitor is located in Salt Lake City, Utah; field office is located in Phoenix, Arizona.

Northeast Region

Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. The Office of the Regional Solicitor is located in the Boston, Massachusetts, metropolitan area; field offices are located in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and in Minnesota's Twin Cities area.

Southeast Region

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. The Office of the Regional Solicitor is located in Atlanta, Georgia; a field office is located in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Southwest Region

New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas, some of Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, Illinois, Indiana, & Alabama. The Office of the Regional Solicitor is located in Albuquerque, New Mexico; field offices are located in Santa Fe, New Mexico, and Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Rocky Mountain Region

Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and Wyoming. The Office of the Regional Solicitor is located in the Denver, Colorado, metropolitan area; field office is located in Billings, Montana.

Pacific Southwest Region

California, Hawaii, Nevada, and the Pacific islands. The Office of the Regional Solicitor is located in Sacramento, California; field offices are located in Oakland and Palm Springs, California.

Pacific Northwest Region

Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. The Office of the Regional Solicitor is located in Portland, Oregon; field office is located in Boise, Idaho.